Tuesday, July 7, 2015

2015 Annual Conference Award Recipients

At the 2015 Annual Conference Awards Luncheon held Friday, June 12, the following people were presented awards for ministry, service and support to follow their call:

The Harry Hosier Award
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Pastor Mack Granderson - recipient, Pastor Yvette Davis

THE HARRY HOSIER AWARD, given by The Commission on Inclusiveness, was presented to Pastor Mack C. Granderson of Derry Street UMC, Harrisburg, Pa.

The Bishop D. Frederick Wertz Award
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Rev. James VanZandt - recipient, Rev. Jeffrey LeCrone

THE BISHOP D. FREDERICK WERTZ AWARD, given by Lycoming College, was presented to Rev. James VanZandt, pastor of Carlisle UMC, Carlisle, Pa. 

Thomas K. Cartwright Scholarship
 Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, David Carter - recipient, Rev. Chuck Sprenkle

THOMAS K. CARTWRIGHT SCHOLARSHIP for young adults called to ordained ministry was established by the Board of Ordained Ministry to honor the memory of Rev. Dr. Thomas Kevin Cartwright. The awardee was David Carter from Faith UMC, Bellefonte, who is a second year seminary student at Evangelical Theological Seminary of Myerstown, Pa. 

The Rev. Dr. Maud K. Jensen / Rev. Dr. Karen E. Layman Memorial Scholarship
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Lisa Aaronson - 
recipient, Rev. Anna Layman Knox

THE REV. DR. MAUD K. JENSEN/REV. DR. KAREN E. LAYMAN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP, given by Women in Ministry was presented to Lisa Aaronson from First UMC, Mechanicsburg, Pa.

The Earl N. Rowe Memorial Scholarship Award
Bishop Jeremiah J.Park, Pastor Yvette Davis - recipient, Rev. Phyllis Bowers

THE EARL N. ROWE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP AWARD, given through The Stewardship Foundation, was presented to Pastor Yvette B. Davis from Grace UMC, Harrisburg, Pa. 

J. Marlene Atanasoff Spiritual Formation Award
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Rev. Laura Beach - recipient, Rev. Russell Hart

J. MARLENE ATANASOFF SPIRITUAL FORMATION AWARD, given by the Center for Spiritual Formation. Awardee is Rev. Laura B. Beach.

The Howard and Elizabeth Brinton Award
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Rev. Lenore Hosier, Sue and John Best - recipients, Pastor Chad Carter

THE HOWARD AND ELIZABETH BRINTON AWARD for Missions. The awardees are John and Sue Best of First UMC, Williamsport, Pa. 

The Flying Dove Award - Congregation
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Rev. Ed Preston,
Glen and Kathy Mulberger - recipients

The Flying Dove Award - Individual
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Pastor Ann Runnels - recipient, Rev. Michelle Bodle

THE FLYING DOVE AWARD, given by Peace with Justice Committee of the Mission and Outreach Team. The individual award was given to Pastor Ann Runnels. The church award was presented to Mt. Nittany UMC, State College, Pa., represented by Rev. Ed Preston and Glenn and Kathy Mulberger. 

 The Denman Award - Clergy
Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, 
Pastor Chad Carter - recipient

The Denman Award - Laity

Bishop Jeremiah J. Park, Ernest King - recipient

THE DENMAN AWARDS for Evangelism are given by the Foundation for Evangelism, Lake Junaluska,  North Carolina. The Laity Award was presented to Ernest King from Tunkhannock UMC.  The Clergy Award was presented to Pastor Chad Carter of Catawissa Parish.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please follow our Guidelines for Dialogue (see tab at the top of the page) when leaving a comment. All comments are moderated. You can also email a Letter to the Editor to link@susumc.org