Monday, February 22, 2016

Award nominations open for AC

Do you know an outstanding United Methodist clergy or lay person or a congregation who you think should be recognized and honored at Annual Conference for their discipleship and achievements? You have the opportunity now through April 15 to submit nominations for the 2016 conference awards. Those selected will attend a special Awards Luncheon at Annual Conference in June. Use the information below to request award nomination forms or find them at

J. Marlene Atanasoff Award
Sponsored by The Center for Spiritual Formation, this award recognizes outstanding advocates of John Wesley’s principles of mercy, justice, and piety. Contact Rev. Dr. Russell Hart at 717-240-0678 or

Bishop’s Award for Christian Unity and Inter-Religious Concerns
The Bishop’s Committee on Christian Unity and Inter-Religious Concerns has an award for a lay or clergy person who has demonstrated outstanding involvement in ecumenical ministry. Contact Rev. Marty Cox at 570-226-4065 or

Howard and Elizabeth Brinton Award
Given by the Conference Missional Board in memory of former missionaries, this award is given to an individual who shows excellence in mission support and practice. Contact Rev. Lenore Hosier at 570-324-2671 or

Mission Excellence Awards 
Given to one church from each of the seven districts of our Susquehanna Annual Conference. These churches are chosen according to their commitment to and faithful support of United Methodist mission both here and abroad, the Advance, missionary support, and active involvement in hands-on mission. Churches need to exhibit good stewardship in being faithful to paying their Shares of Ministry in full. Contact Rev. Lenore Hosier at 570-324-2671 or

Harry Denman Award
The Foundation for Evangelism sponsors this award in three parts – for one clergy, one lay person, and one youth who show outstanding achievement in evangelism. Contact Mike Bealla at 717-766-7441 or

The Flying Dove Award
The Conference Peace with Justice Team presents two awards. One is to recognize the church that contributed the most financially to the Peace with Justice Fund and the other to a person or church striving to work for peace with justice in their community. Contact Michelle Bodle at 814-342-3060 or

Harry Hosier Award
Our Commission on Inclusiveness gives this award to an individual or congregation that moves people from dependence to independence; works with people who are downtrodden and empowering them; and helps a congregation move from inactivity to lively worship. Contact Yvette Davis at 717-238-6739 or

Bishop D. Frederick Wertz Award
Given by Lycoming College in memory of Bishop Wertz, this is given to a clergy or lay person who has rendered exceptional service to God through the church. Contact Jeff LeCrone at 570-321-4112 or

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please follow our Guidelines for Dialogue (see tab at the top of the page) when leaving a comment. All comments are moderated. You can also email a Letter to the Editor to