Monday, June 30, 2014

2014 Award Recipients

By Lisa Bender

An Awards Luncheon held as part of Annual Conference honored and recognized the following award recipients:

Photos of awards recipients can be viewed at:

Deborah Roush of Millerstown UMC received the J. Marlene Atanasoff Spiritual Formation Award given by the Center for Spiritual Formation.

Rachel Keller, a student at Wesley Seminary from Carlisle UMC, received the Thomas K. Cartwright Scholarship from the Conference Board of Ordained Ministry.

Rev. Peggy Jean Bonsell, who serves as chaplain at the Veterans Home of Hollidaysburg, received the Bishop’s Award for Exemplary Service in Ecumenism, presented by the Bishop’s Committee on Christian Unity and Inter-Religious Concerns.

Hildegard Sollenberger, member of Camp Hill UMC, was honored with The Howard and Elizabeth Brinton Individual Award for Missions. Camp Hill UMC was given The Howard and Elizabeth Brinton Church Award for Missions. Both were presented by the Conference Missional Board.

Pamela Williams, Trucksville UMC, was honored with The Denman Award for Evangelism for Laity. Rev. Larry Leland, Faith UMC, Montoursville, received The Denman Award for Evangelism for Clergy. Both awards are given by the Foundation for Evangelism, Lake Junaluska, North Carolina.

Pastor Susan Stewart, Carlisle UMC, was given The Rev. Dr. Maud K. Jensen/Rev. Dr. Karen E. Layman Memorial Scholarship by Conference Women in Ministry.

Joshua Wargo, from Nanticoke, was given The Earl N. Rowe Memorial Scholarship Award, given through the Stewardship Foundation.

Rev. Dr. David Reed of Otterbein UMC, Boiling Springs, and retiring President/CEO of the United Methodist Home for Children in Mechanicsburg, was honored with The Bishop D. Frederick Wertz Award, presented by Lycoming College.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please follow our Guidelines for Dialogue (see tab at the top of the page) when leaving a comment. All comments are moderated. You can also email a Letter to the Editor to